Chapter(1.2) I got a Job.

Rise and Shine People…

 

We followed  Maryam to that small tiny little room.We sat down in two sperate chairs ..she put the papers in fron of her then she looked at me in my eyes and asked me to talk about my self in English..

I started to talk.. with the real ability of English American Accent ( I call it E double A)..She was amazed in with the way English comes out of my mouth..I was very calm, speaking professional   English and smiling between a while and another…She kept asking me many questions about my major and what kind of experiences I have… well, I told her that am English Teacher graduate, but I had little experience in business things like dealing with customers, translation some contracts for my father’s friends and so on…I dont know why she was smiling all the time and expanding   her eyes as if she is going to explode out of  her happiness…I didntt recognize the reason back there… to be honest I thought she had some of craziness because of her shape and the way she looks at the people..

 

Maryam kept asking me question after another while my partner Assad been ignored ….He realized that she is interested in talking to me more than him(Maybe because of his normal English Accent…poor him), but he stayed calm and focused on both of us with the eyes of a tiger.. ..

 

Finally, she asked Assad to leave the room in order to ask me some questions.Assad left and waited near the reception desck .

Maryam hide her smile inside this time and said that they are going hire me for the job because I have excellent English but I had to pass writing test before so she can tell if she wants me or not….She went out to bring paper and pen ..

 

i was alone in the room, thinking of nothing but what it wonderful if  I passed the test and accepted to work with he company..It was the first time going to do test for job..but thought I was strangely calm and confident…

 

She came and give me the instruction along with the papers and the pen..I finished the easy test in 5 minutes then she came with the Operation Manager Mr. Erick …He is a britch guy,, really handsome and toned…

 

Maryam was smiling again while Mr.Erick was telling me that I have been accepted to work with them ,then he let Maryam to finish all the contract procedure….I was very happy.. Maryam came to me smiling and she said

” I’m very proud that I gave this chance for one of my country sons to work in this big company..Tom, I’m really proud of you and I’m sure that you will do good with us “…

Uh !!! now you know why she was smiling all the time ? This woman is a real example of patriotism,, she was there to give chance and support for one of her country sons with knowing him, with out Vet-amine Wasta.. She was full of pure joy and happiness.. very proud of me..

In our country , unfortunately people in high position and high authority both in private and public sector have a big  trust on expatriates more than the locals when it comes to work .They prefer to lose thousands maybe millions  of dollars  hiring  a guy who is from outside the country instead of hiring  a local guy who carries the same experience, qualification…stupid method I know…so this what made me respect Maryam ..She gave me a chance to work in company specialized in engineering and constructions  while I was English Education profession,,,, it was like mixing two tomatoes with oil and sand but it went on indeed….and I got the job….

 

After I signed the contract,I went out the room ..My partner Assad was there looking at am waiting for his turn to go inside and do the test… It was really hard to tell him that I have been chosen but him not…really difficult and hurting me..He was like a friend and a brother and he was hoping to get the job with this company because he applied for the job long time ago…before me…

 

I could tell him that,, Thnx God that Mryam came out very nervous and shy  and she told him the bad shocking news…After she finished telling him, He smiled,,real smile then he hugged me and said

” Me and Tom are one person, I ‘m very happy for him that he got the job,, it is ok with me”…..At that moment,I really felt like a knife cutting me inside…Assad was a good friend,,a good brother who wasn’t selfish and who was brave to accept the painful fact…

 

We left the company with our hands together wishing for him to get a job better than the one I got….

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Chapter 1.2 Thoughts (Real friendship) « Daily Life Career
  2. Trackback: Chapter (2.2) Dead Man is Walking « Daily Life Career

Leave a Reply

